Chapter - 05

Major Domains of the Earth

- The earth is the only planet which has life. Human beings can live here because the life sustaining elements of land, water and air are present on the earth.
- The earth has four components-Lithosphere, Atmosphere, Hydrosphere and Biosphere.

• Lithosphere:

- (i) The solid portion of the earth is called the lithosphere.
- (ii) There are two divisions of the earth's surface. The large and masses are called continents and the huge water bodies are called the ocean basins.
- (iii) The highest mountain peak Mt. Everest is 8,848 metres above the sea level.
- (iv) There are seven main continents-Asia, Europe, Africa, North America, South America, Australia and Antartica.

Hydrosphere:

- (i) The earth is a blue planet.
- (ii) More than 71% of the earth is covered with water.
- (iii) Hydrosphere consists of water in all its forms. It includes the water in rivers, lakes, oceans and glaciers.
- (iv) More than 97% of the earth's surface water is found in the oceans and is too salty for human use.

Oceans:

- (i) Oceans are huge water-bodies and major of the hydrosphere.
- (ii) The three chief movements of ocean waters are the waves, the tides and ocean
- (iii) Some major oceans in the world are the Pacific Ocean, the Atlantic Ocean, the Indian Ocean and the Arctic Ocean.

• Atmosphere:

- (i) The envelope of air surrounding the earth is called the atmosphere.
- (ii) It provides us with the air we breathe and protects us from the harmful effects of the sun's rays.
- (iii) The atmosphere has 78% nitrogen, 21% oxygen, and other gases like carbon and argon are 1% by volume.

• Biosphere:

- (i) It is a narrow zone of contact between the land, water and air.
- (ii) All the living organisms including human beings are linked to each other and are dependent upon the biosphere for survival.